View Full Version : Ebay, for sale: 2004 Brand New 2004 RedLine Revolt??
samiralfey
11-14-2005, 06:51 AM
Is this a real auction for a real Redline-sled?? I really like the looks of the Redline-sleds, too bad it didn't turn out good for the company.
Link: http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/Brand-New-2004-RedLine-Revolt_W0QQcmdZViewItemQQcategoryZ6736QQitemZ45903 50687QQrdZ1QQsspagenameZWDVW
4with4
11-14-2005, 12:50 PM
I'm not sure whether to beleive that or not. There isn't a reserve on it and the auction is for 2 sleds. Those things were a $9000.00 sled. I also noticed there were no throttle or choke cables coming out of the carbs. I e-mailed the seller to inquire about this. It would be a cool sled to own but parts aren't available so you'd have to custom fab every repair.
Ian
mark the shark
11-14-2005, 06:36 PM
Probably a scam. It has been removed.
Shark
vmax4sean
11-14-2005, 06:51 PM
Everything they made was cool! Even there bikes.. http://cgi.ebay.com/Redline-Proline-Expert-BMX-Bike_W0QQitemZ7194624125QQcategoryZ98082QQrdZ1QQcm dZViewItem Just the fork on the bike cost 100.00 used.
THOSE SLEDS ARE ONLY 9000??? I could get a Nytro for that much.. So, i think you mean like, 19,000
4with4
11-14-2005, 08:03 PM
We've had a few scams like that here in the local bargain finder. An 04 Polaris Sportsman for $2900.00. When I e-mailed the guy about it, he said he was in Slovakia. He had moved there to be closer to his wife's family. The import taxes and liscensing were preventing him from keeping the quad there. He said he could ship it back for $1200.00, half of which I was to pay. I phoned Fed-ex and they couldn't ship from there to here but if I was to send it from here to there, it would be almost $12,000.00 for shipping. The next week there was an 05 RX-1 for $3500.00 advertised.
You can usually tell these scams by the way these guys reply to a question. They type in broken english that sounds foreign just to read it. This guy replied to my question about the cables being missing by stating that they were being changed when the picture was taken. Who the hell changes cables on brand new sleds. This guy probably just got a hold of a few photos of the first couple off the assembly line before Redline went under.
Ian
vmax4sean
11-15-2005, 06:10 AM
Ya, seriously... A VMAX4 was once on there for like, $100.. BURNED CD's to..
My dad just got a set of reeds for his T-CAT of ebay, and the guy never sent em'.. He never even replied to any of are emails... 1 Bad feedback from us! FIRST BAD FEEDBACK HE'S GETTING!! He's sold a couple hundred items, and hasn't had any bad feedback
Master of Faster
11-15-2005, 09:33 AM
Consider taking it up with eBay before you go starting a negative feedback war with someone, that usually doesn't get you anywhere, but there is a dispute console that you can file a claim with eBay, they will get involved and that will get you some results more times than not.
Been there, done that.
4with4
11-15-2005, 11:20 AM
The guy claims he pulled them off e-bay for a buyer who hasn't replied. He wants to sell to me privately now. All of these scams have a sence of urgency to them. The e-bay auction said 7 days to pay. E-bay took his ad off yesterday and he was already looking for another buyer last night stating the original buyer was late. It's a scam guys. I'm gonna play him along a bit and see how much he is willing to try and get from me. Also if he wants to be paid by Western Union's Bid Pay or anything other than Pay Pal through e-bay, it's usually a good sign of something not right. The sleds are suppose to be in Georga. Who would buy 2 high end sleds like this in Georga and then sell them in an un-reserved auction on e-bay? Like I said, it's a scam.
Ian
Master of Faster
11-15-2005, 12:07 PM
I contacted a couple of guys that I was sure were scams, I always asked if I could come look at the thing in person, never heard back, lol.
4with4
11-15-2005, 02:03 PM
I asked the guy how much for one or both? I also told him I needed a photo of the serial numbers to verify the clear title. He wrote back stating he would take $5000 for one or 10k for both, shipping and taxes included. The goof doesn't even know where I live. As for the serial numbers, he can't do that because they are packaged up and at a shipping company awaiting shipping. Ha Ha. Is english is getting much worse the faster I make him reply too. I told him I live in Canada and we weren't going any farther until I got the numbers. He even suggested going through e-bay for buyer protection. This is really starting to sound like the guy with the quad in Slovakia. Most of these scams originate in Nigeria. Here in Canada we even have an office setup to analize these scams and report them to the Nigerian Gov't. Problem is the Nigerians don't really care about doing anything about it.
Ian
samiralfey
11-15-2005, 07:23 PM
LOL, sounds just like those scam letters from Nigeria people(me including) used to get. BTW, the photos the so-called 'seller' used in eBay can be also found here :http://www.snow.is/frettir/photos/myndabland/red_line_revolt_2003/.
You can read people baiting on those scammers here, some have even managed to GET money from the scammers :) . The link: http://419eater.com/
vmax4sean
11-15-2005, 08:39 PM
WOW!! Those things look so nice.. 800 cc's? I thought they were 4-strokes..
4with4
11-16-2005, 09:05 AM
This guy is trying like hell to get a deposit from me and then send the rest after I receive the sleds. He still can't provide any serial #'s though. This is kind of funny. I told him I'd be in his area next week on business. Thanks for the idea MOF. I asked for a phone # so I could arrange to see them. I doubt I'll hear back.
Ian
mark the shark
11-16-2005, 06:42 PM
Ian - It sounds like you're having too much fun with this guy. Keep him going, it serves him right!
Shark
vmax4sean
11-16-2005, 07:38 PM
THIS IS FUNNY!
4with4
11-17-2005, 09:25 PM
No reply for over 36 hours since I told him I'd be in Georga next week on business and wanted to see them in person. Ha Ha. I wonder if he's having a problem finding that phone # I asked for?
Ian
vmax4sean
11-17-2005, 09:42 PM
LOL! You should track his IP Address, send it to me, and I should be able to find out where he lives
Master of Faster
11-17-2005, 11:56 PM
Well, that had to be fun anyways. I think more people should screw with them like that :urock: Those guys are scumbags, with all the effort they put into scamming people they could just get a second job.
4with4
11-20-2005, 04:43 AM
Sean. The address I was replying to was: paulparker99@yahoo.com
I'm not a computer wiz so run with this and see what you get. It wouldn't surprise me if he was from Africa somewhere. The way his english broke up when he was pressed to answer quickly reminded me of some other scams from Nigeria that have come across my e-mail.
Ian
vmax4sean
11-20-2005, 08:46 AM
Okay. I'll get his IP Adress through my private email. It's my site address, so people who email me, I can get there IP Adress, then I can go onto my forum, click on someones username, click "Bann", then it comes up with a screen. I can put there IP Adress in, and sometimes I can get there info.:muahaha:
thundercat4ever
11-22-2005, 02:29 PM
Scammers suck. It's too bad that so many are taken in by their lies.
Check this out. Thsis guy has made a real effort to scam the scammers. Especially those "nigerian letter" senders. :super:
http://www.kotisivut.org/spam/mugugallery/page_01.htm
LOL some of those are eally stupid...
Ike
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.1.10 Copyright © 2012 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.