800 cc Pilot screw setting?

Hello, I have a few questions:

I have my 800cc carbs on the bench now for cleaning. I'm replacing all four needle & seats/o-rings and float bowl o-ring seals. I also pulled the pilot air screws to replace the little o-rings in there. Glad I checked them, because they're disintegrating like the other o-rings are.

My question is: how many turns out (from lightly seated) are you guys setting your pilot screws at? All 4 of mine were different and the service manual doesn't list a starting point; manual says, "Pilot screws are set at the factory and should not be changed. If they are removed, record settings and return screws back to same position upon assembly!" My carbs all ranged from 1/4 to 1-3/4 turns out?? lol :help:

Past carb experience says 1-1/2 turn out is a good starting point, but maybe that's not the case here? I've owned this sled for two years and this is my first time having the carbs apart as it was starting to run rough last winter.

Thanks to the site and the people that take the time to post service work! I would have never known where to start on this sled!:smilies-9

2 turns out.The more out,the more fuel.In more,less fuel.These are fuel screws.I do believe that some mistake these for pilot air adjustment.

My carbs were in pretty bad shape; all main jets, pilot jets, o-rings, needle & seats and aluminum pilot jet tubes had to be replaced. It took several hours scraping all the nooks and crannies in the float chambers with a knife before they even got soaked in carb cleaner. All is reassembled and going back on the motor this week. I have a new Bender silencer to go on as well!

Thanks for the replies! Much appreciated!

carb1.jpgcarb2.jpgcarb3.jpgcarb4.jpgcarb5.jpgcarb6.jpgcarb7.jpg

Is the pic of the carb rack in completed cleaned state? It looks like the tiny air jets/plugs are missing.