what engine oil is best?

GEARHEAD

i placed a thread on general and figured this may be better, what is the best oil now for the 4? i used yamalube years back but maybe something better now?

I have always used yama-lube with no issue's but I also can't tell mself to spend the extra $$ on amsoil ( abit cheap)

I totally agree on the expense diff, i thought that just maybe someone out did the good old yamalube for about the same price that wont harm the engine.

I have been using "golden spectro snow" for many many years, in every sled I`ve owned including my vmax-4.....

It`s around $25 a gallon..

AL P

Only yamalube in this old girl, and the motor hasnt been broken down past the spark plugs ever before, and with over 15k, that says alot! Its also the only oil that has not cause running or fuel milage issues. Its more money, but cheaper than a new motor! I know we have used some other brands in the past in a pinch, and it never ended up well.

Yamaha did alot of research on what they wanted to use in their snowmobiles.So guess I`m a yamalube believer.You should never go wrong with what the manufacturer recommends.

There's really no "best",it all comes down to what works for you! and your sled,but to answer your Q Amsoil,Klots and others are good,i run Amsoil interceptor in everything for the extra detergent additives it has and excellent base stock for lubricity for cyl walls and bearings.

great oil..

Other then the synthetics, and semi synthetics etc..I would`nt doubt if their all the same oil, with differant color additives..LOL

If you ask a polaris guy whats the best oil..most likely he`ll say the polaris brand , ask an arctic cat guy, and guess what he`ll say, etc...lol

I just know that golden spectro has been making two cycle oil since before 1967, and it meets, or exceeds all "OEM baseline oils"....
good enough for me..